Not working quite so hard!

Things have definately quitened down for us a little now that we have our winter wood chopped so we have a little time to relax, unfortunately things are a little barren in the fields and the weather is a little changeable so heqading out with the camera is not really my first choice at the moment. It is however a good time to practice some product photography and tie that in with a little bit of cooking to while away the lazy days of winter. I have been working in with a new light tent that I purchased recently that I will right a review of in due course but I have been toying with some reflections when shooting objects place on glass with solid colour backgrounds.


Coffee and Walnut Muffins!

The image above was taken with my new Canon EF – Lens – 50 mm – f/1.8 II – Canon EF that I wrote about in my previous entry and I am still more than impressed! It was shot at f6.3 to get the depth of Focus and the muffins were put on a glass sheet with a black backdrop in my light cube and I used two flashes at either side to light the shot. Unfortunately I had to do a bit of work in photoshop to be able to get the black all the way back to black. The shot below was set up identically with a red back ground with a purposely narrower DOF f4.5 to isolate the muffin from the cup o’joe and to blur it into the background a little! I really do have to work a little at getting the images out of the camera a little neater as these required a little more effort in photoshop than I would like but nothing that coupld not be fixed, now time to give them a whirl in the wonderful world of the Microstock photography market and see how they fare 😀


Coffee and walnut muffins with extra coffee!

Thats the photography stuff done so whats the recipe I hear you say… Well I suppose I could share, they are actually very tasty and relatively savoury but I think next time I would reduce the salt a little and also increase the amount of walnuts, especially as the walnut tres over here have had a bumper harvest this year and we have been given tonnes of them!

  • 1 tablespoon instant coffee powder
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1 cup whole milk or 1 cup cream
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 cup lard, melted (or veg. oil)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

I like recipes like this real simple, mix all the dry ingredients together and then add all the wet ingredients and mix until just amalgamated and throw in the oven at 200°c for twenty minutes, boil the kettle make coffee and sit down and relax with that smug feeling!

Royalty Free Images

Leave a Reply

